Welcome to my website

You will find information here about all my books



These three linked stories about a miner’s family in the 1930s and 40s have now been published in new editions by Walker Books. Each story features a different child in the family, and the books can be read in any order. Pigeon Summer, which was first published in 1992, was shortlisted for both the Smarties Book Prize and the W H Smith Mind Boggling Books Award.


Mary loves her father’s racing pigeons, and she wants to continue racing them while he’s away seeking work. But there’s barely enough money for bread, never mind pigeon feed. The tension between Mary and her mother mounts…

“A wonderfully moving story…I would recommend it to anyone.”
Independent on Sunday

Walker Books, 2nd January 2014. ISBN 978-1-4063-5249-8. e-book available.


Bullied in and out of school, Lennie hides in a ruined cottage in the woods – where he meets and makes friends with Ralph. But Lennie is a miner’s son, and Ralph’s father is the boss. Can their friendship survive?

“A masterly book.”
School Librarian

Walker Books, 2nd January 2014. ISBN 978-1-4063-2477-8.  e-book available.


It’s 1941. Doreen’s grown-up sisters have left home and she now has a bedroom to herself. The last thing she wants is to share it with an evacuee – especially Rhoda Kelly…

“Turnbull combines an easy economy of style with a sharp eye for detail.”
The Guardian

Walker Books, 2nd January 2014. ISBN 978-1-4063-3105-9. e-book available.

More about the Pigeon Summer Trilogy



Jon should never have skipped school with his friend Ryan – never have taken that boat. Now Ryan is in danger – and only Jon can save him. But Jon is scared. The police are knocking on his door. They know he’s lying. Is it too late to tell the truth?

“This story kept me on the edge of my seat.”
Books for Keeps

“Intricately plotted but written with a stylish economy, this gripping novel is perfect for even the most easily distracted reader.”
The Guardian

Published by SilverWood Books, 11 October 2013.
ISBN: paperback 978-1-78132-160-7
ebook 978-1-78132-161-4

Coming Soon

THE GUNPOWDER PLOT: A TIME FOR TREASON will be published by A&C Black later this year. This is a story for children aged 7 and over.


squeezebox design